SDK Behaviors: higher order building blocks and generator

I know the SDK is a work in progress. I also know there are better and grander versions of the SDK on the drawing board.

I am new to Jibo development but found the overall experience pleasant and understandable. Having used the SDK and the Basic Skills Template ( and main.rule) to craft my first skill, I found it to be pretty easy. Thanks SDK team - well done!

My resultant is a rat’s nest of sequences and that is for only a handful of actions. For each sequence I added an animation, a TTS response, a sound and an ExecuteScript at the bottom - i did this over and over again to create variety and interest.

However, it could be much easier. The power in an expressive interface such as the Jibo robot, I feel, comes from variety and abundance of interesting responses - even possibly amusing and surprising responses - that make one smile and take note. What pains me is when I see repetitive, robotic responses that are always the same. A developer has to work pretty hard to add variety. Random TTS response, random movement, animations, etc. are tedious to code up. Just the simple changes I made the to basic skills template, to add a couple more behaviors, took me some time.

What I would like to see is a way of encapsulating behaviors into higher level behaviors with randomness and variability built in. For example, I came with about 50 different ways of saying “correct” to Jibo’s responding to my answer. To code this up nicely I would have to come up with a collection of body animations to correspond to each response and display a graphic appropriate for each response.