Why I still believe in Jibo (even when things change)

My name is Michael Rodriguez and I’ve been a professional web developer for more than 15 years. I’ve also been programming since I was 8 years old, writing my first text-based game for the TRS-80 my mom received from her work at Radio Shack.

Ever since I was that age, I’ve had a fascination for computers and technology. I saw talking cars on late night TV, smart robots in cartoons, and absolutely amazing futures depicted in movies. And computers seemed to be at the center of them all, so I quickly decided to learn as much as I could about programming them.

Several years later, after learning C++, I finally felt artificial intelligence – like the kind I saw on the big screen – was right on the verge of coming out, so much so that I didn’t even think it was worth trying to write myself. I’d probably just get beaten to the punch by IBM or Microsoft anyway, both who had divisions working on it at the time. But nothing ever was released, not that I could use anyway, that truly was smart…even years and years later.

So, when I saw a video of the first-of-its-kind sleek little white robot who was both intelligent and witty come out two years ago, I was instantly hooked. Hell yeah did I want a cute little living animation sitting on my desk at home, and I wanted to immediately start programming for him as well. Not only would I have the world’s first smart consumer robot in my home, I could also make him smarter, maybe even for others as well.

I immediately bought a Jibo. Well, after my wife’s consent, I’ll admit.

With Jibo, I felt like I had just been given the tools to create the artificial intelligence I always dreamed of. I kinda’ new that the video they showed was probably a bit over the top of what could really be expected from an IndieGogo campaign, but that didn’t matter because I was going to program him to do all of those things and more, one way or another.

Then I waited.